Atherogenic index – what is it? What is the norm?

Author Ольга Кияница

2019-03-05

Many people know such a thing as “bad” cholesterol, but not everyone knows that behind this extensive definition are more specific indicators. One of them is the atherogenic factor, what a dietitian, therapist, and endocrinologist can say. Its level has an important role in assessing the degree of activity of the atherosclerotic process and related diseases.

The atherogenic coefficient (CA) is calculated using certain cholesterol fractions. Under favorable conditions, “bad” cholesterol goes into a bound state, that is, turns into low-density lipoproteins.

The atherogenic coefficient is used in diagnostics most often when precise determination of the state of fat metabolism is required.

Together with the atherogenic coefficient, an atherogenic plasma index is often determined. The use of these indicators today is strongly recommended for early diagnosis and preventive measures to control various cardiovascular diseases, including IHD.

Video: The True Story of LDL and HDL Cholesterol

Characteristics of atherogenicity

Assessment of atherogenic cardiovascular risk is important in the treatment of dyslipidemia associated with antiretroviral therapy (ART). Most often, the Castelli Risk Index (CRF), atherogenic plasma index (AIP) and atherogenic index (CA) are the most useful indicators as predictors of cardiovascular risk (CVD).

Atherogenicity is the ratio between harmful and beneficial forms of cholesterol, to determine which biochemical blood test is used.

Lipids of low and very low density (respectively, LDL and VLDL) are considered to be harmful or “bad” cholesterols .Their dimensions are so large that they cannot penetrate into the tissues, but it also turns out to circulate in the blood for a long time, so they are deposited on the inner walls of the vessels. This leads to the definition of atherosclerotic plaque, which in turn contributes to the formation of other pathologies. For this reason, “bad” fats are also called atherogenic.

“Good” cholesterol is the popular definition of high-density lipoprotein (HDL). Their molecules also have large sizes, but at the same time HDL are involved in the transport of fatty alcohol (a harmful compound) to the liver cells (hepatocytes). Therefore, it is believed that high-density lipoproteins are important in the functioning of the body and therefore are useful.

To determine the concentration of lipids in the blood used various types of laboratory tests. Recently, more and more published clinical guidelines calling for indicators of CVD risk predictors to be taken into account. In particular, if necessary, the level of the atherogenicity coefficient is determined, which best indicates the degree of atherogenicity in a particular person.

CA indicator allows you to identify the degree of risk in the following diseases:

  • Atherosclerosis.
  • Pathology of the liver.
  • Thyroid disease.

Additionally, CA is required to assess a person’s condition during a routine examination and to determine the effectiveness of a drug exposure.

Atherogenic coefficient calculation

The level of spacecraft is determined using biochemical analyzes. In particular, the concentration of total cholesterol and HDL (anti-atherogenic lipids) in the blood is determined. Additionally, other indicators of fat metabolism can be calculated, which makes it possible to assess the situation on a wider scale. A similar study is referred to as lipid profile analysis:

  • Total cholesterol is a generalized definition for all forms of lipoprotein, both “good” and “bad”.
  • High-density lipoproteins - are considered anti-atherogenic, because they prevent the formation of atherosclerotic plaques.
  • Low and very low density lipoproteins and - directly involved in the development of atherosclerosis.
  • Triglycerides are esters from the discharge of higher fatty acids, also belong to atherogenic factors, because after the release, VLDL is transported in the liver.

Some indicators from lipid profile analysis are used to calculate CA, for which a simple formula is used:

KA = (total cholesterol - HDL) / HDL

Subtracting HDL from total cholesterol allows you to find out the concentration of LDL and VLDL. Thus, almost all indicators from the analysis of the lipid profile, except for triglycerides, take part in the calculation of CA. By the way, they can significantly complicate the research.

In some laboratory institutions, the calculation of spacecraft is carried out according to a slightly modified formula:

KA = (LDL + VLDL) / HDL

Here, the LDL is separately determined by their precipitation during the analysis. In addition, the concentration of triglycerides is calculated and the resulting value is equal to the amount of VLDL. If spacecraft are calculated with direct participation of triglycerides (TG), then the following formula is used:

KA = LDL + TG / 2.2

HDL

As can be seen from the above calculations, the values ​​of CA mainly depend on total cholesterol, which includes LDL and VLDL, as well as antiatherogenic HDL.

What does increasing atherogenicity mean

The normal value of a spacecraft is 2-3 conventional units . If the index is determined in the region of 3-4, then this indicates a possible dyslipidemia, which, in the absence of correction of everyday life, can achieve a high level of atherogenicity.

Increased CA is considered if this indicator is more than 4. In such cases, there is a very high probability that the walls of blood vessels will gradually become blocked by atherogenic lipoproteins. They have nowhere to go from the bloodstream, so an atherosclerotic plaque is formed.

The increase in CA is observed in all different ways. One, as they say, everything is possible and at the same time the indicator does not change significantly. Others need only a minor error in the diet, so that CA can grow several times.This may be due to the presence of other risk factors that have a direct effect on the level of lipoproteins in the blood. In particular, attention should be paid to the following predisposing situations:

  • Family predisposition to various disorders of fat metabolism.
  • Emotional overstrain on an ongoing basis.
  • Determination of extra pounds.
  • The presence of bad habits by type of smoking, alcoholism, drug addiction or substance abuse.
  • Disorders of the endocrine glands, such as diabetes.
  • Insufficient physical activity.

It should be noted that the increase in CA is often observed in conditions such as pregnancy or menstruation, since during these periods there is a significant hormonal activity. Also, “fast” fasting can lead to the release of fat reserves in the blood, which will immediately lead to changes in laboratory parameters.

With a high probability of the formation of atherosclerosis and similar diseases to it, the doctor may prescribe the necessary drugs, statins or hormones. Their use is often associated with the development of serious side effects, but most often of the two evils choose the lesser.

Video: LDL and HDL Cholesterol | Good and Bad Cholesterol | Nucleus Health

Atherogenic rate in women

The female body during the period of hormonal activity is able to cope well with atherogenic lipoproteins, not allowing them to exceed the permissible level. But this is only if a healthy lifestyle is not disturbed and the woman is not pregnant or does not celebrate red days.

It is believed that in women, the spacecraft normally should not exceed 3.2, then the risk of developing atherosclerosis will be minimal.

The situation changes markedly in the postmenopausal period. Then significantly increases the risk of developing cardiovascular diseases compared with women in premenopause due to an increase in the atherogenic lipid profile.

The researchers confirmed the presence of atherogenic indicators correlation with the following factors:

  • Age
  • Body mass index.
  • Systolic blood pressure.
  • Diastolic blood pressure [1 - Gita Khakurel, Rajat Kayastha, Sanat Chalise, Prabin K Karki Atherogenic Index of Plasma in Postmenopausal Women, 2018].

These data do not give the right to women under the age of 50 not to follow the diet or violate other rules of a healthy lifestyle. Such recommendations are relevant for all people of any age and gender who wish to preserve their health.

Male atherogenic index

KA in men may be slightly higher than in women. The definition of a high level of spacecraft similarly indicates a significant risk of developing CVD.

Normally, for males, spacecraft should not exceed 3.5 conventional units.

Due to the greater predisposition of men to various violations of the rules of a healthy lifestyle, this category of the population often develops CVDs. In view of this, it is necessary to carefully follow the existing recommendations to reduce the risk of atherosclerosis, which will allow the body to be kept in the right form both up to 50 years old and after.

It should be pointed out that a low level of spacecraft is not associated with any painful conditions, therefore, as a rule, they do not pay attention to a decrease in the index. Sometimes the results of spacecraft will be lower than normal, especially if a person practices low-cholesterol nutrition, takes a type of statin, or engages in professional sports.

Recommendations to reduce atherogenicity

Medical management of patients with increased atherogenicity first involves changing risk factors — for example, by stopping smoking and practicing a restrictive diet. Prevention usually consists of proper nutrition, exercise, quitting smoking and maintaining a healthy weight.

Up to 90% of cardiovascular diseases can be prevented by avoiding established risk factors [2 - McGill HC, McMahan CA, Gidding SS (March 2008). "Preventing heart disease in the 21st century: Implications of the Pathobiological Detergent of Atherosclerosis in Youth (PDAY) study". Circulation. 117 (9): 1216–27].

  • Diet

Changes in nutrition can help prevent the development of many diseases associated with high CA. Preliminary evidence suggests that a diet containing dairy products does not affect or reduce the risk of CVD.

A diet based on fruits and vegetables significantly reduces the risk of CVD and death. There is also evidence that a Mediterranean diet can improve the functioning of the heart and blood vessels. However, some researchers suggest that the Mediterranean diet is often more beneficial than food with a low content of fatty substances. It provides long-term changes in CVD risk factors (for example, lowering cholesterol concentrations and blood pressure).

  • Physical exercise

The program of controlled exercises is struggling with factors that increase spacecraft. As a result, blood circulation and vascular functionality are improved. Exercises are also used to control weight in patients with obesity, hypertension and cholesterol.

Often, lifestyle modification is combined with drug therapy. For example:

  • Statins help lower cholesterol.
  • Antiplatelet agents such as aspirin help prevent clots.
  • Various antihypertensive drugs are commonly used to control blood pressure.

If combined efforts to modify risk factors and drug therapy are insufficient to control the symptoms or combat the inevitable threat of ischemic manifestations, the doctor may resort to interventional or surgical procedures to eliminate vascular obstruction.

Video: Dyslipidemia: What to know about Cholesterol and Triglycerides levels

3.33 avg. rating (71% score) - 3 votes - votes

Source

1. Gita Khakurel, Rajat Kayastha, Sanat Chalise, Prabin K Karki Atherogenic Index of Plasma in Postmenopausal Women, 2018
2. McGill HC, McMahan CA, Gidding SS (March 2008). “Preventing heart disease in the 21st century: implications of the Pathobiological Determinants of Atherosclerosis in Youth (PDAY) study”. Circulation. 117 (9): 1216–27
3. Nunes SO, Piccoli de Melo LG, Pizzo de Castro MR, Barbosa DS, Vargas HO, Berk M, Maes M. Atherogenic index of plasma and atherogenic coefficient are increased in major depression and bipolar disorder, especially when comorbid with tobacco use disorder. 2015 Feb 1.

Similar articles

What heart examinations do you have?

In diagnostics of cardiovascular diseases an important role is played by timely diagnostics. It is often enough to conduct a standard ECG to make a correct diagnosis. In other cases, a diverse study of the heart is required, which allows you to establish the exact cause of the illness and conduct an effective treatment.

More
Is it possible to do sports with arrhythmias of the heart

Sports are an integral part of a healthy part of the population. Regular exercise allows you to strengthen the body, become more resistant, emotionally balanced. But with the appearance of a heart rhythm disorder, the question immediately arises: Is it possible to do sports with arrhythmias of the heart?

More
What products thin the blood

The use of blood thinning products is required in cases where the risk of blood clots is increased. Behind this disease there are many different complications like pulmonary embolism, brain stroke and myocardial infarction. But blood thinners should also be used with caution to prevent bleeding.

More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Коэффициент атерогенности – что это такое? Какова норма?

Автор Ольга Кияница

2019-03-05

Многим известно такое понятие как “плохой” холестерин, но не все знают, что за этим обширным определением стоят более специфичные показатели. Один из них - коэффициент атерогенности, что это такое может сказать врач-диетолог, терапевт, эндокринолог. Его уровень имеет важную роль в оценке степени активности атеросклеротического процесса и связанных с ним заболеваний.

Коэффициент атерогенности (КА) вычисляется с помощью определенных холестериновых фракций в анализе крови. При благоприятных условиях “плохой” холестерин переходит в связанное состояние, то есть превращаться в липопротеины низкой плотности.

Коэффициент атерогенности используется в диагностике чаще всего тогда, когда требуется точное определение состояния жирового обмена.

Вместе с коэффициентом атерогенности нередко определяется атерогенный индекс плазмы. Использование этих показателей сегодня настоятельно рекомендуется многими кардиологическими организациями для проведения ранней диагностики и профилактических мер по контролю различных сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний, включая ИБС

Видео: О чем говорят анализы. Холестерин

Характеристика коэффициента атерогенности

Оценка атерогенного сердечно-сосудистого риска важна в терапии дислипидемии, связанной с антиретровирусной терапией (АРТ). Чаще всего именно индекс риска Кастелли (ИРК), атерогенный индекс плазмы (АИП) и коэффициент атерогенности (КА) являются наиболее полезными показателями в качестве предикторов риска сердечно-сосудистые заболевания (ССЗ).

Атерогенность - это соотношение между вредными и полезными формами холестерином, для определения которых используется биохимический анализ крови.

Вредными или “плохими” холестеринами считаются липиды низкой и очень низкой плотности (соответственно ЛПНП и ЛПОНП). Их размеры настолько большие, что они не могут проникнуть в ткани, поэтому они длительно циркулируют в крови. Далее происходит их осаждение на внутренних стенках сосудов. Подобное приводит к формированию атеросклеротической бляшки, что в свою очередь способствует развитию других патологий. По этой причине “плохие” жиры еще называют атерогенными.

“Хороший” холестерин - народное определение липопротеинов высокой плотности (ЛПВП). Их молекулы также обладают большими размерами, но при этом ЛПВП принимают участие в транспортировки жирного спирта (вредного соединения) к печеночным клеткам (гепатоцитам). Поэтому считается, что липопротеины высокой плотности имеют важное значение в функционировании организма и поэтому являются полезными.

Для определения концентрации липидов в крови применяют различные виды лабораторных анализов. В последнее время все больше опубликовано клинических рекомендаций, призывающих учитывать показатели предикторов риска ССЗ. В частности, при необходимости определяется уровень коэффициента атерогенности, что наилучшим образом показывает степень атерогенности у определенного человека.

Показатель КА дает возможность выявить степень риска при следующих заболеваниях:

  • Атеросклерозе.
  • Патологиях печени.
  • Заболеваниях щитовидки.

Дополнительно КА необходим для оценки состояния человека при профилактическом осмотре и с целью определения эффективности лекарственного воздействия.

Расчет коэффициента атерогенности

Уровень КА определяется с помощью биохимических анализов. В частности, определяется концентрация в крови общего холестерина и ЛПВП (антиатерогенных липидов). Дополнительно могут рассчитываться другие показатели жирового обмена, что позволяет оценить ситуацию в более широких масштабах. Подобное исследование обозначается как анализ липидного профиля:

  • Общий холестерин - обобщающее определение для всех форм липопротеинов как “хороших”, так и “плохих”.
  • Липопротеины высокой плотности - считаются антиатерогенными, поскольку предотвращают образование атеросклеротической бляшки.
  • Липопротеины низкой и очень низкой плотности - непосредственно участвуют в развитии атеросклероза.
  • Триглицериды - это сложные эфиры из разряда высших жирных кислот, также относятся к атерогенным факторам, поскольку после выделения в печени транспортируются ЛПОНП.

Некоторые показатели из анализа липидного профиля используются для расчета КА, для чего применяется несложная формула:

КА = (общий холестерин – ЛПВП) / ЛПВП

Вычитание ЛПВП от общего холестерина позволяет узнать концентрацию ЛПНП и ЛПОНП. Таким образом, в расчете КА берут участие практически все показатели из анализа липидного профиля, кроме триглицеридов. Они, кстати, большим своим количеством могут заметно затруднить проведение исследования.

В некоторых лабораторных учреждениях расчет КА проводится по немного измененной формуле:

КА = (ЛПНП+ЛПОНП) / ЛПВП

Здесь отдельно определяются ЛПНП посредством их осаждения во время анализа. Кроме того рассчитывается концентрация триглицеридов и полученное значение приравнивается к количеству ЛПОНП. Если же проводится расчет КА с непосредственным участием триглицеридов (ТГ), тогда используется следующая формула:

КА = ЛПНП+ТГ/2,2

ЛПВП

Как видно из приведенных расчетов, значения КА в основном зависят от общего холестерина, в который входят ЛПНП и ЛПОНП, а также антиатерогенных ЛПВП.

Что значит повышение коэффициента атерогенности

Нормальное значение КА - 2-3 условные единицы. Если определяется показатель в районе 3-4, тогда это указывает на возможную дислипидемию, которая, при отсутствии коррекции обыденной жизни, сможет достичь высокого уровня атерогенности.

Повышенным КА считается в том случае, если этот показатель составляет более 4. В таких случаях очень высока вероятность того, что стенки сосудов будут постепенно закупориваться атерогенными липопротеинами. Им некуда деваться из кровеносного русла, поэтому происходит формирование атеросклеротической бляшки.

Повышение КА наблюдается у всех по-разному. Одним, как говориться, можно все и при этом показатель существенно не изменяется. Другим достаточно лишь незначительной погрешности в диете, чтобы КА выросло в несколько раз. Подобное может быть связано с присутствием других факторов риска, имеющих непосредственное влияние на уровень липопротеинов в крови. В частности, следует обратить внимание на следующие предрасполагающие ситуации:

  • Семейная предрасположенность к различным нарушениям жирового обмена.
  • Психоэмоциональное перенапряжение на постоянной основе.
  • Определение лишних килограммов.
  • Наличие вредных привычек по типу курения, алкоголизма, наркомании или токсикомании.
  • Нарушения функций эндокринных желез, например диабет.
  • Недостаточная физическая активность.

Стоит указать, что повышение КА нередко наблюдается при таких состояниях как беременность или месячные, поскольку в эти периоды наблюдается значительная гормональная активность. Также “быстрое” голодание может привести к выбросу в кровь жировых запасов, что незамедлительно приведет к изменению лабораторных показателей.

При большой вероятности образования атеросклероза и подобных ему болезней врач может предписать прием необходимых препаратов, статинов или гормональные средства. Их использование нередко связано с развитием серьезных побочных действий, но чаще всего из двух зол выбирают меньшее.

Видео: Для чего назначают липидограмму?

Коэффициент атерогенности у женщин

Женский организм в период гормональной активности способен хорошо справляться с атерогенными липопротеинами, не позволяя им превысить допустимый уровень. Но это только в том случае, если не нарушен здоровый образ жизни и женщина не беременна или не отмечает красные дни.

Считается, что у женщин КА в норме не должен превышать 3,2, тогда риск развития атеросклероза будет минимальным.

Ситуация заметно меняется в постменопаузальный период. Тогда существенно возрастает подверженность риску развития сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний по сравнению с женщинами в пременопаузе из-за увеличения атерогенного липидного профиля.

Исследователи подтвердили наличие корреляции атерогенных показателей со следующими факторами:

  • Возрастом.
  • Индексом массы тела.
  • Систолическим артериальным давлением.
  • Диастолическим артериальным давлением [1 - Gita Khakurel, Rajat Kayastha, Sanat Chalise, Prabin K Karki Atherogenic Index of Plasma in Postmenopausal Women, 2018].

Указанные данные вовсе не дают право женщинам в возрасте до 50 лет не следить за питанием или нарушать другие правила здорового образа жизни. Подобные рекомендации актуальны для всех людей любого возраста и пола, желающим сохранить свое здоровье.

Коэффициент атерогенности у мужчин

КА у мужчин в норме может быть несколько выше, чем у женщин. Определение высокого уровня КА аналогично указывает на существенный риск развития ССЗ.

В норме у мужчин КА не должен превышать 3,5 условных единиц.

Из-за большей предрасположенности мужчин к различным нарушениям правил здорового образа жизни, у этой категории населения чаще развиваются ССЗ. Ввиду этого нужно тщательно соблюдать существующие рекомендации по снижению риска развития атеросклероза, что позволит поддерживать организм в нужней форме как до 50 лет, так и после.

Стоит указать, что низкий уровень КА не связывается с какими-то болезненными состояниями, поэтому на понижение показателя, как правило, не обращают внимание. Иногда результаты КА будут ниже нормы, особенно если человек практикует низкохолестериновое питание, принимает средства по типу статинов или занимается профессиональным спортом.

Рекомендации по снижению коэффициента атерогенности

Медицинское ведение больных с повышенной атерогенностью сначала включает изменение факторов риска - например, путем отказа от курения и практиковании ограничительной диеты. Профилактика обычно заключается в правильном питании, занятиях спортом, отказе от курения и поддержании нормального веса.

До 90% сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний можно предотвратить, если избежать установленных факторов риска [2 - McGill HC, McMahan CA, Gidding SS (March 2008). "Preventing heart disease in the 21st century: implications of the Pathobiological Determinants of Atherosclerosis in Youth (PDAY) study". Circulation. 117 (9): 1216–27].

  • Диета

Изменения в питании могут помочь предотвратить развитие многих заболеваний, связанных с высоким КА. Предварительные данные свидетельствуют о том, что диета, содержащая молочные продукты, не влияет и не снижает риск ССЗ.

Диета, основанная на фруктах и овощах, заметно снижает риск ССЗ и смерти. Также имеются доказательства тому, что средиземноморская диета может улучшить работу сердца и сосудов. При этом некоторые исследователи указывают на то, что средиземноморская диета часто бывает более полезной, чем питание с низким содержанием жирных веществ. Она обеспечивает долгосрочные изменения факторов риска ССЗ (например, снижения концентрации холестерина и уровня артериального давления).

  • Физические упражнения

Программа контролируемых упражнений борется с факторами, повышающими КА. В результате улучшается кровообращение и функциональность сосудов. Упражнения также используются для контроля веса у больных с ожирением, артериальной гипертонией и холестерином.

Часто модификация образа жизни сочетается с медикаментозной терапией. Например:

  • Статины помогают снизить уровень холестерина.
  • Антиагреганты, такие как аспирин, помогают предотвратить образование сгустков.
  • Различные антигипертензивные препараты обычно используются для контроля артериального давления.

Если объединенные усилия по модификации факторов риска и медикаментозной терапии недостаточны для контроля симптомов или борьбы с неизбежной угрозой ишемических проявлений, врач может прибегнуть к интервенционным или хирургическим процедурам для устранения обструкции сосудов.

Видео: Анализ крови: плохой и хороший холестерин


Источники

1. Биохимический анализ крови — Википедия — свободная энциклопедия
2. Gita Khakurel, Rajat Kayastha, Sanat Chalise, Prabin K Karki Atherogenic Index of Plasma in Postmenopausal Women, 2018
3. McGill HC, McMahan CA, Gidding SS (March 2008). «»Preventing heart disease in the 21st century: implications of the Pathobiological Determinants of Atherosclerosis in Youth (PDAY) study»». Circulation. 117 (9): 1216–27
4. Nunes SO, Piccoli de Melo LG, Pizzo de Castro MR, Barbosa DS, Vargas HO, Berk M, Maes M. Atherogenic index of plasma and atherogenic coefficient are increased in major depression and bipolar disorder, especially when comorbid with tobacco use disorder. 2015 Feb 1.


3.33 avg. rating (71% score) - 3 votes - оценок

Похожие статьи

Какие обследования сердца существуют?

В диагностике сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний важную роль играют своевременная диагностика. Нередко достаточно провести стандартное ЭКГ, чтобы поставить правильный диагноз. В других случаях требуется разноплановое исследование сердца, что позволяет установить точную причину болезни и провести эффективное лечение.

Подробнее
Можно ли заниматься спортом при аритмии сердца

Занятия спортом являются неотъемлемой частью здоровой части населения. Регулярное выполнение физических упражнений позволяет укрепить организм, стать более выносливым, эмоционально уравновешенным. Но при появлении нарушения ритма сердца сразу возникает вопрос: можно ли заниматься спортом при аритмии сердца?

Подробнее
Какие продукты разжижают кровь

Использование продуктов, разжижающих кровь, требуется в тех случаях, когда повышен риск тромбообразования. За этим заболеванием стоит много различных осложнений по типу тромбоэмболии легочной артерии, инсульта мозга и инфаркта миокарда. Но и разбавители крови должны применяться с осторожностью, чтобы не возникло кровотечение.

Подробнее

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован.